Curly Hair With No Heat

If you have naturally curly hair then you know what I am talking about when you hear me say that I have hated my curly hair for years and years. There is something to do with growing up that makes you immediately hate your curls and want to burn that curl out with any possible heat treatment you can find.

My problem was always that my curly hair looked great but I didn’t like how it made it look shorter, as I have such a thing about thinking I look better with long hair. Hey, we all have our body hang ups and I wont bore you with mine!

So recently I read a story in a newspaper about Thandie Newton saying that she is embracing her naturally Afro Caribbean hair and how she is proud of her curls. I started thinking, why don’t I wear my hair curly? After all it takes 5 minutes to do and it means I don’t have to wash my hair every day as it looks greasy much less quickly.

Okay so here is how I style my curly hair:

First of all I wash my hair with a curl enhancing shampoo and conditioner. I have two current favourites one being the more expensive Bedhead by TIGI Hi Def Curls shampoo and matching conditioner, which I think works great at enhancing those curls. For a cheaper option I love Herbal Essenses Tousle Me Softly shampoo and conditioner which really works at smoothing the hair shaft and making those curls look healthy, I don’t think it creates curls as well but it makes my hair feel really soft afterwards.

Next I style my hair. Sticking with the theme of Bedhead by TIGI I use the Foxy Curls Mousse to create my curls or if I am on a budget then i use the John Frieda Ease Curl Reviver Corrective Styling Mousse.

I style my hair the same way with either mousse, basically I section my hair usually into 3 sections, so I get some at the bottom, make a middle parting (or whatever parting I am having and do either side. Starting with the bottom I run the mousse through the hair and use my fingers to twist strands of hair into curls.

Please note this will only work if you have naturally curly hair. Now all you have to do is let your hair dry naturally and watch those curls form. Spray some hairspray if needed but really you shouldnt have to as the mousse should do all the work for you.

Leave a Reply

